Faculty, Staff, And Students Recognized During Annual Awards Ceremony At U Of M, Crookston; Austin Czichotzki And Tammy Wroblewski Named 2011 Man And Woman Of The Year

Student Achievement Awards 2011

The University of Minnesota, Crookston recently honored students with achievement and service awards at the annual Student Awards Reception. The ceremony is held each spring to honor those who have made outstanding leadership and service contributions or who have achieved high academic standing at the University’s Crookston campus.

Thirteen students received Student Achievement Awards, which the U of M, Crookston presents to recognize those students who have excelled not only academically, but also through leadership and service to the University and local community.

Students receiving the Student Achievement Award were:
Brittany Novak, a senior from Dahlen, N.D., majoring in biology;
Nana Boaten, a senior from Accra, GHA, majoring in marketing
Alyssa Krikke, a senior from Grand Rapids, Mich., majoring in health sciences
Derek Ricke, a senior from Park Rapids, Minn., majoring in sport and recreation management
Kristine Neu, a senior from Pelican Rapids, Minn., majoring horticulture and communication
Joseph Harren, a senior from Eagle Bend, Minn., majoring in agronomy
Heather Donati-Lewis, a senior from Narcoossee, Fla., majoring in equine science
Alvin Tong, a senior from Singapore, SGP, majoring in natural resources and business management (not pictured)
Lhakpa Gurung, a senior from Mustang, Nepal, majoring in early childhood education
Shawn Friedland, a senior from New Bern, N.C., majoring in biology
Eun Hye Kang, a senior from Seoul, South Korea, majoring in communication
Austin Czichotzki, a  junior from Barnesville, Minn., majoring in communication, a senior from Milwaukee, Wis., who is a triple major golf and turf management, communications, and horticulture

From this group, two students were chosen as the “Man and Woman of the Year,” the year’s top academic, service and leadership award. Honors for 2011 go to (pictured l to r) UMC Man of the Year, Austin Czichotzki (at left in photo), a junior from Barnesville, Minn., majoring communication; and Woman of the Year Tammy Wroblewski (at right in photo), a senior from Milwaukee, Wis., who is a triple major in golf and turf management, communications, and horticulture. Czichotzki is the son of Terry and Sandi Czichotzki and Wroblewski is the daughter of Diane and Jeff Wroblewski.

Faculty and staff, also recognized during the evening, are significant in that the entire

Faculty and Staff Awards

student body votes to select the award recipients. Awards for Most Creative Use of Technology went to Associate Professor Brian Dingmann who teaches in the Math, Science and Technology Department; Outstanding Educator, and Most Supportive of Students Awards were presented to Assistant Professor Kevin Thompson, who teaches in the Liberal Arts and Education Department; and Outstanding Service to Students was awarded to Pam Sullivan, who oversees operations in the Eagles Nest.

In group photo, at top: Back row, l to r: Kristine Neu, Heather Donati-Lewis, Joe Harren, and Derek Ricke. Middle row: Brittany Novak, Halie Kang, Alyssa Krikke, Nana Boaten, and Lisa Samuelson, director of student activities. Front row: Lhakpa Gurung, Tammy Wroblewski, Austin Czichotzki, and Shawn Friedland.

In group photo, at bottom: (l to r): Shawn Friedland, president of the Crookston Student Association; Pam Sullivan; Kevin Thompson; Brian Dingmann; and Anna Wagner, vice president of the Crookston Student Association.