Faculty And Staff Receive Awards During Annual Faculty And Staff Day At U Of M Crookston

Recognizing excellence and celebrating success was the highlight of Faculty and Staff Day held May 14, 2013, at the University of Minnesota Crookston. The annual event is held to commemorate the completion of the academic year and honors achievement.

Faculty and staff were honored for years of service along with the retirement of Tom Baldwin, senior vice chancellor for academic and student affairs; Vicki Svedarsky, assistant counselor in Career and Counseling Services; and Mike Vivion, chief pilot in the Agriculture and Natural Resources Department. The event was also an opportunity to recognize two department heads who are leaving campus for other opportunities: Jack Geller, head, Liberal Arts and Education Department and Adel Ali, head, Math, Science, and Technology Department.

Individual faculty and staff were presented awards for their contributions to the Crookston campus:

Rachel McCoppin, associate professor, Liberal Arts & Education Department – Distinguished Teaching Award presented by Thomas Baldwin.

Michelle Christopherson, director, Center for Adult Learning – Distinguished Professional and Administrative (P&A) Award presented by Connie Camrud.

Linda Wilkens, Copy Center Operator, UMC Printing & Design – Distinguished Civil Service and Bargaining Unit Award presented by Tom Sondreal.

Ken Bulie, lecturer, Business Department – Outstanding Service Learning Faculty Award
reented by Lisa Loegering.

Josh Parrill, student personnel coordinator,
Academic Assistance Center – Outstanding Community Service Award presented by Kenneth Johnson.

Melissa Parkin, catering supervisor, Dining Services – Builder of Diversity Award presented by Lorna Hollowell.

The entire campus community was also thanked for its overall support for students with disabilities by Laurie Wilson.