Homecoming Celebration at U of M Crookston on Friday and Saturday, October 4-5, 2013; Outstanding Alumni and Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Announced and Class of 1994 Celebrates 20-year Anniversary

It’s time for homecoming at the University of Minnesota Crookston, and the Office of 
Development & Alumni Relations is preparing to honor the 2013 Outstanding Alumni and Athletic Hall of Fame inductees on Friday, October 4. During the evening, Outstanding Alumni Eugene Dufault ’68, Timothy Rhonemus ’84, Susan Jacobson ’87 & ’96, and Tyler Grove ’94 will be recognized for their achievements. Michele (Johnson) Allen ex. ’88, volleyball/softball, Craig Talberg ’91, football, and Karla (Thormodson) Isley ’98, women’s basketball will be inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame.

The recognition will take place in Bede Ballroom, Sargeant Student Center, beginning at 6 p.m. with a social followed by a banquet and presentation of the honorees. Hosting the evening are Corby Kemmer, director of development and alumni relations and Stephanie Helgeson, director of athletics along with greetings by Chancellor Fred Wood. To make reservations for the evening, contact Rose Ulseth in the Office of Development & Alumni Relations at 218-281-8439 by September 25.

On Saturday, Oct. 5, everyone is invited to attend the annual homecoming parade at 10:30 a.m. on the Campus Mall. William “Bill” Peterson, professor of mathematics, will serve as the parade’s grand marshal. Peterson is a senior faculty member and is currently serving as Interim Department Head for the Math, Science, and Technology Department. He has been with the University since 1968. Peterson received the Distinguished Teaching Award in 1984 and 1994 and received the Torch and Shield Award in 2000.

Following the parade, Golden Eagle Women’s Soccer will take on Sioux Falls at 11 a.m. Teambackers will host a tailgate with live music by the band Four Wheel Drive in Parking Lot E also beginning at 11 a.m. The Golden Eagle Football game will kick off at 1 p.m. against Bemidji State University Beavers.

Students will celebrate homecoming week with events planned around the theme “Golden Eagle Nation Celebration.” Highlights for students include a homecoming photo booth, the 2nd Annual Alpha Sigma Pi Powderpuff Football game, and the coronation of homecoming royalty, along with a number of other homecoming related activities.

The class of 1994 will be recognized at this year’s homecoming on their 20 year anniversary. It marks 20 years since the first baccalaureate degree was granted on the campus along with the laptop initiative.

Special events for the classes of 1968 and 1969 and all communication alumni and former faculty will also be held.

Visit www.umcrookston.edu/homecoming or ww.facebook.com/umcrookston.homecoming for more information.

In the photo are some of the faculty and staff who were on campus in 1994 and will be celebrating with the Class of 1994 on their 20th anniversary.

Left to right, back row: Andrew Svec, Don Cavalier, Don Medal, Linda Wilkens, Patti Tiedemann, Kent Freberg, Dan Svedarsky, Jeff Sinks, Mike Hanson, Tom Feiro, and Phil Baird.

Front row: Deb Chandler, Krista Proulx, Sue Jacobson, Lynne Mullins, Laurie Wilson, Sharon Stewart, Marsha Odom, Marilyn Grave, Twyla Treanor, Owen Williams, and Bill Tyrrell.

Profile photo of University of Minnesota Crookston

About University of Minnesota Crookston

A four-year, public university with an enrollment of 1,300 students located in northwest Minnesota. Since its establishment as an institution of higher learning in 1966 and its transition to offering baccalaureate degree programs in 1993, the U of M, Crookston equips all students and faculty with laptop computers; provides individual attention that leads to success; and offers a hands-on approach that puts students ahead of the competition!
This entry was posted in Alumni and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.