Justin Knebel Memorial Ice Fishing Tournament Slated For Saturday, February 1, 2014, At Zippel Bay Resort On Lake Of The Woods, Williams, Minn.

Fish for prizes and support scholarships during the 4th Annual Justin Knebel Memorial Ice Fishing Tournament to be held Saturday, February 1, 2014. The tournament, which supports scholarships at the University of Minnesota Crookston, will be held at Zippel Bay Resort on Lake of the Woods, Williams, Minn. Tickets are available for $20 by contacting Alysa Tulibaski at 701-215-4300 or Bill Tyrrell at 218-281-8436. Tickets are also available at Zippel Bay Resort, 6080 39th St. NW, Williams, Minn., 800-222-2537.

Registration, limited to the first 150, begins at 10 a.m. on the ice at the tournament site with fishing from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Prizes will be awarded to the first person to catch a fish, along with prizes for the largest walleye, northern, sauger, perch and other species caught during the tournament. The registration fee also includes a raffle ticket and road access fee. All proceeds from the tournament support the Justin Knebel Memorial Scholarship Fund at the U of M Crookston.

The Justin Knebel Memorial Ice Fishing Tournament corporate sponsors are Zippel Bay Resort and Streiff Sporting Goods in Warroad, Minn. A number of other businesses in Northwest Minnesota support the tournament through the donations of prizes and monetary support.

Justin Knebel, who played basketball for the U of M, Crookston Golden Eagles, grew up in Warroad, Minn., graduating from Warroad High School in 2001. A talented athlete, he lettered in basketball, cross country, and track. After graduation, he attended the University of Minnesota, Crookston where he played basketball as a point guard for the Golden Eagles. Head Basketball Coach Jeff Oseth describes him as the ultimate team player working hard on the court and in the classroom.

Besides his passion for playing basketball, Knebel loved the Warroad area and outdoor sports in Minnesota, making the ice fishing tournament an apt tribute to the memory of this outstanding student-athlete. For more information on the tournament, visit www.umcrookston.edu/justinknebel.

Members of the planning committee for the event include Corby Kemmer, Bill Tyrrell, Stephanie Helgeson, Amber Bailey, Rose Ulseth, and Alysa Tulibaski.