Faculty Staff Awards Day Held At The U Of M Crookston

With the end of the spring semester and the commencement celebration through, the University of Minnesota Crookston acknowledged the work of outstanding faculty and staff during the Faculty/Staff Awards Day on Tuesday, May 9, 2017. The annual event recognizes years of service, retirements, and a series of awards including distinguished teaching, scholarly work, service, and more.

distinguished teachingThe award for Distinguished Teaching went to Professor Mark Huglen in Liberal Arts and Education Department; Distinguished Professional & Administrative Award went to Mark Dufner, a lecturer in the Math, Science, and Technology Department and Head Football Coach in Golden Eagle Athletics; and Distinguished Staff Service Award was presented to Steve Hannah coordinator of the Center for Teaching, Learning, and Technology. distinguished staff service

The Distinguished Faculty Service Award went to Barry Stephens, a lecturer in the Business Department and the Distinguished Scholar Award went to Associate Professor Katy Chapman from the Math, Science, and Technology Department.

Assistant Professor Lynnette Mullins from Liberal Arts and Education received the University Outstanding Service Award. distinguished staff service

Christine Bakke, a lecturer in the Math, Science and Technology Department received the Access Achievement Award and Associate Professor Sharon Stewart received the award for Outstanding Faculty Service Learning.

Director of Library Services Owen Williams and Library Services staff were the recipients of the Builders of Diversity Award and the Retired Seniors Volunteer Program (RSVP) presented the Boomerang Award to Marlene LeBlanc, an executive office and administrative specialist in University of Minnesota Extension’s Northwest Regional Office.

Others recognized included Dale Kopecky from the Northwest Research and Outreach Center for 45 years of service, and Assistant Professor Paul Aakre from the Agriculture and Natural Resources Department; Professor Sue Brorson from the Business Department, Tom Feiro from Environmental Health and Safety and the Natural Resources Department, Krista Proulx from Library Services, and Deb Zak, regional director for University of Minnesota Extension for 40 years of service. Faculty and staff were also recognized for 30, 25, 20, 15, and 10 years of service to the University of Minnesota Crookston, University of Minnesota Extension, and the Northwest Research and Outreach Center.

In the photos are Mark Huglen with Soo-Yin Lim-Thompson; Steve Hannah with Gary Willhite; and Mark Dufner with Stephanie Helgeson